Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 1 Voting Underway Across 21 States and Union Territories

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections have begun, with the first phase of voting across 21 states. The outcome will shape India's political landscape for the next five years, as the BJP-led NDA seeks a third term under PM Modi, facing the Opposition INDIA alliance.

Rafia Tasleem
Updated On
New Update
Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 1 Voting Underway Across 21 States and Union Territories

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 1 Voting Underway Across 21 States and Union Territories

The first phase of voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha election commenced on April 19 at 7 am, with 21 states and union territories casting their votes to elect the next set of Members of Parliament. The election will be held in seven phases, with vote counting and result declaration scheduled for June 4.

Over 16.63 crore voters are expected to exercise their franchise at around 1.87 lakh polling stations in Phase 1, which covers 102 parliamentary constituencies. A total of 1,625 candidates, including 8 Union ministers, 2 former Chief Ministers, and an ex-Governor, are in the fray.

Voter turnout updates were provided for various states, with Arunachal Pradesh recording 33.13% turnout till 11 am, West Bengal at 15.64%, and Nagaland at 30%. However, reports of clashes and stone-pelting emerged from Arunachal Pradesh and West Bengal, where the ruling Trinamool Congress alleged violence and accused BJP supporters of creating chaos and beating up their party workers.

Why this matters: The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are crucial, with the BJP-led NDA seeking a third consecutive term under Prime Minister Narendra Modi, while the Opposition INDIA alliance aims to deny them another win. The outcome of these elections will shape the political landscape of India for the next five years.

Several prominent leaders and personalities cast their votes in the first phase, including Congress veteran P Chidambaram, his son Karti P Chidambaram, legendary actor Rajinikanth, RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat, and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin. Union Ministers Kiren Rijiju and Pema Khandu also exercised their franchise in Arunachal Pradesh.

The Election Commission has deployed over 18 lakh polling personnel across the polling stations to ensure the peaceful and smooth conduct of polls. Central forces have been stationed at polling booths, with 1,374 inter-state and 162 international border checkpoints being set up.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed a rally in Uttar Pradesh's Amroha, emphasizing the BJP's commitment to rural development and empowering the underprivileged. He criticized the INDIA alliance for hampering progress in rural areas and outlined the BJP's initiatives to revitalize the textile industry.

Key Takeaways

  • Phase 1 of 2024 Lok Sabha elections held on April 19 in 21 states/UTs.
  • Over 16.63 crore voters expected to vote at 1.87 lakh polling stations.
  • Sporadic incidents of violence reported in Arunachal Pradesh and West Bengal.
  • Outcome will shape India's political landscape for the next 5 years.
  • PM Modi addressed rally in UP, criticizing INDIA alliance and outlining BJP plans.