Super League Kerala Unveils Six Franchisees for Inaugural Season

The Super League Kerala announces six franchisees for its inaugural season, set to kick off in September 2024, providing opportunities for over 100 young Kerala footballers. The league aims to elevate football in Kerala, with high-profile owners and a focus on youth development.

Nitish Verma
New Update
Super League Kerala Unveils Six Franchisees for Inaugural Season

Super League Kerala Unveils Six Franchisees for Inaugural Season

The Super League Kerala (SLK) has announced its six franchisees for the inaugural season, set to kick off in September 2024. The league promises to provide opportunities for over 100 talented young Kerala footballers to receive world-class exposure and potentially further their careers in Indian and international football.

The six franchisees are Kochi Pipers FC, owned by legendary tennis star Mahesh Bhupathi; Calicut FC, owned by tech entrepreneur and IBS Group Chairman VK Mathews; Thrissur Roar FC, co-owned by Kaz Patafta, Chairman and CEO of Brisbane Roar FC; Kannur Squad FC, co-owned by MP Hassan Kunhi, Director of Kannur International Airport Ltd; Thiruvananthapuram Kombans FC, owned by Travancore Princess Gowri Lakshmi Bayi; and Malappuram FC, co-owned by VA Ajmal Bismi, MD of Bismi Group.

The SLK is expected to generate opportunities across various sectors, including sports, entertainment, retail, tourism, leisure, travel, and hospitality, benefiting the six chosen regions and their surrounding areas. Kerala Minister of Sports, V Abdurahiman, stated, "SLK is certain to redefine the football activities of the state in a big way in the coming years."

SLK CEO Mathew Joseph emphasized the league's commitment to providing an unparalleled experience for fans, saying, "The selected venues will promise an unparalleled and unprecedented experience for spectators." The Kerala Football Association (KFA) is also actively promoting football across the state, with president Navas Meeran noting that over 5,000 upcoming players are currently undergoing training and competitions in five groups for the Chakola Trophy tournament.

article Several of the SLK franchisees have strong links to prominent Kerala Premier League (KPL) teams. Kannur Squad FC is tied to Wayanad United FC, Thiruvananthapuram Kombans FC to Kovalam FC, and Malappuram FC to Tirur's SAT. These KPL teams plan to focus on grassroots and youth development, potentially proposing their main players for the SLK's player pool and converting their under-21 sides into KPL teams next year.

The Super League Kerala's inaugural season in September 2024 marks a significant milestone in the state's football landscape. With the involvement of high-profile owners, investors, and a focus on youth development, the league aims to elevate the beautiful game in Kerala to new heights. As the countdown to the first kickoff begins, football enthusiasts eagerly await the thrilling matches and the emergence of the next generation of Kerala football stars.

Key Takeaways

  • Super League Kerala (SLK) announces 6 franchisees for inaugural season in Sept 2024.
  • Franchisees include Kochi Pipers FC, Calicut FC, Thrissur Roar FC, and more.
  • SLK aims to provide opportunities for 100+ young Kerala footballers.
  • League expected to generate opportunities across various sectors in Kerala.
  • SLK focuses on youth development, with links to Kerala Premier League teams.